Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as awhole

Nowadays, illiteracy is a significant and discussable problem, which can have wide effects on people's life. There seem to be two causes and a number of effects, which we will discuss here. Possibly the main cause is poverty, especially in undeveloped countries. The ever-rising number of poor people could have resulted in a number of illiterates. It means that when families confront financial problems may have to categorize their needs and their priorities will be food and housing, so they will forebear education. Therefore, their children can be deprived of literacy. A further well-known cause is government neglect of illiteracy and its disadvantages. In another word the reason for inattention may be that governments do not want to dedicate a considerable budget to students’ education. As a result, the quality of education at schools and universities will decrease. The effects of this problem on people can be quite serious. Firstly, losing talent and increasing depression are experienced because lack of awareness. Indeed, it seems that illiterate people can not able to identify their aptitudes, so they will feel worthless and will be depressed. For example, youth may have a chance to choose the field in which they have talent and favour. A further widely-observed impact is uneducated countries cannot be industrialized and modern. It seems countries can be developed by the knowledge of their educated experts. For instance, to build an electric powerhouse or produce a car, we need educated engineers and specialist workers. In conclusion, poverty and government ignoring seem to be the main causes, and they affect people's life and countries ' development.