It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Most people believe that social media platforms, for instance Facebook, have negatively impacted both individuals and society at large. However, I do not agree with this popular sentiment because I have noticed several positives that occurred since the dawn and full development of such sites. Firstly, with regard to individuals, social networking sites have brought friends and families across the globe virtually closer together. For example, the negative feelings of being isolated and emptiness, are minimised when people are far away from each other. Besides the need for social interaction, individuals are kept to date with the latest information in their circles. Secondly, anyone using social media is able to empower themselves as they have access to a lot of unlimited free information, which some are taking advantage of for their personal enrichment. Different individuals started businesses, collaborations, got employment, and other meaningful ideas to support their livelihoods. Therefore, the use of social networking sites uplifted people in all sectors of life. However, while there are benefits at an individual level, the effects are damning at a local community level. Communities have benefited less, because everyone is losing physical interaction with each other. For this reason, people in a society have lost trust in each other, which I think is a key factor to a successful and developed community. To conclude, in my view, the positive individual developments brought by social networking sites into societies outweigh what most people believe. As social media continue to evolve, and we continue to learn about its negative effects, so shall our societies find ways to adapt and turn the drawbacks into successes.