More and more measures to improve the security in large urban areas have been introduced in many countries because of the increased crime. Do the benefits of these measures outweigh the drawbacks?

These days, metropolitan areas have extensively implemented approaches to reduce the elevated crime rate which affects the safety of residents. In my point of view, I believe the detrimental impacts of this strategy are more significant than the advantages it brings. The first negative effect of this strategy is that it may weaken the economy. To be specific, safety procedures necessitate the additional allocation of equipment as well as an involved labour force. This leads to a growth in government expenditure which is generated by taxes on citizens. For instance, increasing the number of police on the streets requires a great budget for officers' salaries, operational vehicles and weapons. Another adverse consequence is that it may provide inconvenience for residents. If safety measures become more complicated, citizens must regularly comply with a wide range of regulations. For example, when entering a building, employees must form a queue to go through a scanning machine to ensure there are no illegal items brought into the building. As a result, there will be extra time to accomplish daily tasks for individuals. In conclusion, many large areas have increased the imposed method to raise the safety of residents. However, I believe that the drawbacks, including the heavier financial burden for the government and inconvenience for citizens, prevail over the benefits such as reduced crime.