In some countries, there are more young people enrolled in work based training instead of attending university. Do the advantage of the situation outweigh the disadvantages.

A considerable portion of youngsters are taking admissions more in work-integrated learning rather than university education and this is because of the cost, time and employment opportunities. Although, there are some cons still this phenomenon is beneficial in this era of increasing inflation. To begin with, there are a plethora of benefits to studying work-based training. First and foremost, the curriculum of such a program is enriched with practical knowledge that makes the students employment ready. Consequently, they can easily secure employment with well-paid companies and start earning. For example, according to a national survey in 2023, most commercial cookery students got their jobs during their training periods. Secondly, because of the high inflation rates worldwide, academy learning is expensive for poor communities while skill-based programs are affordable for almost every learner. Along with their cost-effectiveness, these courses are short-duration as compared to university courses. For instance,, India has almost one or two government industrial training institutes in every city that allows every learner to acquire a skill-based education by paying less fee than university programmes. However, the only disadvantage of the skilled courses is the lack of research and in-depth understanding of the subjects whereas the university education is vast and has a more research-based curriculum that aids students to develop effective skills like critical thinking, decision-making, and evidence-based practice in their profession. In conclusion, Decreased number of admission to universities is a result of student's interest in skill-based programs. Hence, increased enrolments in training-based courses have gained popularity among youth as the curriculum, expenditure and duration of these courses are the advantages that overweight their disadvantages.