Some people think it is important to construct new buildings rather than wasting money maintaining the old ones. To what extent, do you disagree or agree with this opinion?

Heritage is an asset for every nation that exists so why every country tries its best to save these buildings and monuments and spend a handsome amount on their maintenance However, a fraction of the population believes that instead of wasting taxpayers' money on these buildings, new construction should take place for the people. I strongly agree with the opinion that investment should be focused on the betterment of humans. First of all, due to inflation, a lot of people have lost their jobs and are in dire need of shelter. If the government builds new houses for them, their life could get settled. Secondly, these old buildings have construction material that is too old and unavailable and they often need thorough repairs to stand only. For instance, a large amount of money during the 1990s was allocated for the Pisa Tower to stop its inclination. On the other hand, these heritage constructions attract many tourists from around the world and that definitely brings some bucks for the country. For example, the Taj Mahal is an important tourist spot and is a great source of income for the Indian government. Another advantage of keeping this legacy alive is to teach future generations about the rich culture one holds. The more safe these monuments will be, the more our children will stay aware of our ancestors. To conclude, I will say that though it is beneficial to maintain such projects, it is more important to serve people and to take care of their basic needs. In the current era where inflation has peaked, our first priority should be human beings and their survival at all cost