Some believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion

Homework is a piece of work given by teachers to perform at home; some people opine that teachers should not give homework to the students, while some are in favour of giving homework as to improve their academic performance. In my opinion, homework must be given to students for better understanding but not to put pressure on them. Giving homework to students can lead to several circumstances where they find themselves in hassle. Firstly, putting extreme academic pressure can have adverse mental effects on pupils. In addition to their school hours, if they are studying more than their body allows, it can give them depression. For instance, the students who study more than 12 hours in a day have serious health issues which could not be reversed later on. Thus, seriousness of studies should depend on student's capabilities. Moreover, children's leisure plays a vital role in not only their physical but social development. They need to spend after school hours to play with friends, this will lead to their better overall growth. Paradoxically, there are many supporters of getting homework everyday as this will create a self awareness to improve their academic knowledge. As soon as they build a habit of doing self-study, they will automatically become more efficient in doing any task. The students who do regular study at home tend to have sharp cognitive development which may make them assertive. Therefore, in order to achieve consistency in improvement, one needs to do homework regularly. In conclusion, although homework is important to strengthen the efficacy of a person, but excess of everything has a side effect. For the overall growth, the students must give equal time to academic and leisure.