Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It appears that people in most countries are buying similar products. One of the potential effects of having access to global market is that, over time, people would look the same, so the unique culture of each nation might fade into the new global one. I believe that although there are some advantages to this change of habits, the drawbacks outweigh the pros. It is true that globalization has some benefits for people. Possessing the same products and living in similar cultures can bring people together. People will feel more comfortable when communicating with a stranger from another nation who has similar interests. For example, playing video games is a common free time activity around the world. A gamer would find it easier to make a friendship when he meets a foreigner who plays the same video games as he does, and it might help them to get along with each other. Furthermore, as the modern culture suggests the complete equality between people, its spreading could lead to the disappearance of some cultural features which are based on wrong ideas, especially in underdeveloped countries. On the other hand, this phenomenon has many negative consequences. Firstly, it makes it easier for big companies to manipulate each nation's consumption patterns, and this is negative because their intention is based on gaining more profit, rather than ethically acceptable values. Secondly, cultural diversity is an interesting subject which scientists study. For instance, anthropologists' research is based on that, and if all places become similar to each other, it makes it more difficult to study their previous traditions, values, and even their original language. Finally, the products a person owns represent their unique identity, as well as shaping it. If everyone uses the same products, they will become more and more similar to each other, until the point that they are no longer identifiable from others. Overall, this phenomenon can lead to a society with no diversity in it. To conclude, I restate that there are some advantages to globalization caused by using similar products around the world. However, I believe that the impact that it has on each area and each individual's uniqueness is something that makes it an unfavourable development.