Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In these years, a wide range of new medicines and products have been developed through animal testing which has been highly argued. Whether animals should sacrifice for human benefits or some feasible methods must be taken to protect living species. While I am of the opinion that animals should be treated humanely, I would support a controlled amount of animal experimentation for Medicare Admittedly, animal testing subjects animals to lots of trauma, but it is necessary for the development of the healthcare system. It can be noted that we use animal testing for plenty of different purposes. In fact, when a new product is invented, there is no guarantee that it is safe for human use therefore researchers have to take experimentation to ensure that no risk can be caused. For example, temporary animals, such as mice, have to bear an illness, thus, the effectiveness of a new drug can be measured and then used in humans. On the other hand, it may be morally wrong to dissect animals which causes a great deal of suffering. From my point of view, the survival of every creature should be respected and we have no right to injure species to fulfil our demands. it is universally recognized that most animal experiments have been practised for non-medical products and they can be controlled to the minimum. Clothes made from fur, for instance, are considered a fashionable status symbol and consumers’ obsessions with these items are increasing significantly. There is little consumers realize that their purchasing has profound impacts on living species. The fewer products tested on animals are sold, the fewer animals are hunted. Animals should not be abused and researchers have obligations to minimize testing based on animals as well as use alternative methods to reduce as much pain as possible. To summarize, the survival of living species should be appreciated and researchers should make optimal use of animal experimentation but it may be an essential cruelty for the growth of medicines when human lives are saved.