Many people nowadays spend a large part of their free time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Currently, there is a large number of people who spend a big amount of their spare time scrolling through their smartphones. They might do it through different softwares or programes programs, but they all eventually do the same activity: spend leisure hours on the phone. There are a few reasons which cause this case to appear. To begin with, the development of technology requires individuals to use internet in numerous domains of their life such as work, mundane occupations or just for solving a problem fast. Because of this, they already got used to having their phone besides them and automaticaly access it in their free time, forgetting about other tasks or hobbies they could be doing instead. To continue, these gadgets give people the opportunity to connect to social media and to a variety of videogames. Not feeling how fast the time passes is a consequence of different online platforms, and even though at the time they may feel recreational, they are just a disstraction from the real world. From my point of view, this is a negative evolution because instead of focusing on our career, on how to improve our personality, our relashionships relationship with others or on being grateful and appreciative of the beauty of the real world around us, we tend to stagnate and get lost in a virtual reality just due to the fact we do not know how to use our free time efficiently. To conclude, I believe that individuals should monitor the quantity of time they spend on their smartphones and should not let online activities be a priority fot them.