Some people think it’s better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Choosing a friend is a difficult life decision. Some people argue that people should become friends with someone who has the same views, while others think that we should choose friends who often have opposing opinions. I support the latter group of people since this type of friendship instils the necessary skills and qualities. On the one hand, seeing eye to eye is a vital ingredient in any relationship, including friendship. This is because people do not want to argue over both trivial and important matters. When they share their views and beliefs, they want them to be accepted whether or not they are correct. Therefore, in most cases, people cut ties with people who do not share the same opinions. Given this fact, people usually make friends when they can ensure that their ideas do not clash, leading to disagreements. On the other hand, having friends who tend to have contrasting views can foster personal development. By nature, most people are narrow-minded, and it is difficult for them to consider broader perspectives. If they have friends who often disagree with their viewpoints and present counter-arguments, the most important quality is developed, which is open-mindedness. In addition to this, people can improve their critical thinking, a skill appreciated in today's world. This improvement happens when they are made to look at the bigger picture and consider other points of view. In conclusion, although a long-lasting friendship can be guaranteed when both parties share the same opinions, it would be better for people to choose friends with whom they do not always see eye to eye. This way, they can grow as a person who is open-minded and able to think critically