Some people think painting and drawing are as important as other subjects, they should be compulsory in the high school education. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many people argue that the significance of art is no less than other academic areas, therefore, it should be a mandatory subject to pursue in higher education. I strongly agree with this and believe that art represents culture and history, and talented artists should be given an opportunity to come forward with their talent. To start with, art illuminates the cultural background of a community. It brings out the historical meanings of a region. As a consequence, it offers a platform of reminiscence where artists have an exchange of art that showcases their personality and their past. For example, Mithila art, an art form belonging to a community in the southern part of Nepal, has made its presence in the international art gallery. It has established a mark of the country and the marginalised community on a global map. Hence, paintings are pride possessions of a nation. Secondly, it would provide space for the god-gifted talents of individuals. Although a person may have a passion for art, the person, when taught, will be able to hone their skills and bring out the best in them. As a result, the students will indulge and excel academically along with their mental well-being. For instance, research suggests that pupils perform well when they study what they are interested in and this has helped to keep the suicidal cases low which took place due to extreme family pressure to score good grades and lack of motivation on what they were learning. To conclude, along with the other branches of academics, art should be an integral part to maintain quality education and happy citizens.