In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The wealth gulf between the haves and have-nots has widened to a certain extent across the globe, which fuels a debate about whether it is beneficial to our society or should restrict the rich from earning more money. From my perspective, although it should permit everyone to make as much money as they can in a legal manner, some measures need to be taken for narrowing the gap. On the one hand, the pursuit of fortune acts as a driving force for people to work hard and revolutionize the world. Propelled by the return of high remuneration, entrepreneurs can devote themselves to scientific discoveries and business management, which cannot only change the way we live but meet our needs. For instance, Steve Jobs and his partners spared no pain in creating a device that could connect us with the rest of the world. As a result, electronic gadgets such as iPhone and iPad have facilitated our lives by means of modern technologies, and it also thrives the local economy of the country as they became billionaires. On the other hand, the unfair distribution of the fortune may result in chaos and instability in the country. Consequently, it is better to take action against the inequality in wealth, thereby creating a harmonious society worldwide. For one thing, with the influence of globalization, international giants have reigned supreme in some markets, such as online shopping, the oil industry, etc., which allows them to reap a great sum of revenues at the expense of the rising cost of living for citizens. Therefore, senior executives and managers in those enterprises should not make money without any restrictions. For another, by introducing wage limitations or imposing higher taxes for the high-salary class, it is able to distribute the wealth equally, thus improving the living standard of people as a whole. In conclusion, while a high salary plays a big part in motivating people to make great contributions that are beneficial to the country, I tend to argue that there are some measures that should be implemented to cap the exponential increase in wages for the highest earners in society.