The governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that governments should use the money from the tax on building railways rather than roads. On one side I believe, two publicly funded options should be equally available for the public, however; I also think we should all support the idea of prioritizing the railway systems as it has more environmental benefits. On one hand, the authorities are the servants of their citizens as they are elected to make people´s life easier using tax money. As one of their main functions, governments must construct sufficient, safe roads and a reliable railway system, so people can choose their mode of transport based on their preferences, not limitations. For instance, in the UK public transportation is known for delays and cancellations, forcing more and more people to use cars as their main means of transport. On the other hand, the government is obligated to act proactively towards global warming issues in addition to looking after its citizens. This means in cooperation with other countries, our country must meet certain requirements for lowering CO2 emissions, which can be achieved only if we drive fewer cars. The authorities should, therefore, focus on making our region greener, by renovating and improving the railway system instead of building new roads. For example, in,Norway the Metro system has been significantly improved in the last 10 years, while simultaneously reducing the amount of parking space available in central Oslo. In conclusion, the government should indeed use our public funding to make transportation more convenient and safer for users. However, the sustainability of our planet should also be taken into consideration, as cars lead to higher CO2 pollution, whereas trains are seen as an environmentally friendly alternative to automobiles.