Some people think that children should only read academic books. Others believe that reading books for pleasure is equally important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some parents believe that children should only study textbooks being taught in classrooms because they will help them achieve higher grades in their exams. As they focus on academic books more, they will be able to perform well and gain a better understanding of how to tackle subjects that seem difficult to them. Despite, the fact that reading educational books is very important, in my opinion, books which are read for fun have equal importance since children gain from its social and educational aspects. By reading books for enjoyment, different characteristics become part of their personality which enables them to have a better understanding of themselves and others. Nonfiction books namely biographies of people give an insight into their lives and hardship that teaches one to become empathetic in someone else’s difficult times. Similarly, when people read English literature and poetry, they develop an appreciation for the poet’s talent and art making them passionate to understand the vocabulary and language used. These social skills will play a factor in the success of their interpersonal relationships and should not be ignored. In addition, they have educational purposes as well. When people read articles on general topics such as travelling, sports and movies. This improves their general knowledge. They in turn learn a range of vocabulary selective to the topic, benefiting from them when they come across these topics in various public gathering discussions. I believe, therefore, that both the social and academic aspect of reading fiction and nonfiction books comes in handy in children’s intellectual development. In conclusion, I believe, that reading books for fun is as important as reading academic books. By reading fiction novels they will not only learn empathy from reading characters in those novels but it will also increase their general knowledge.