Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development.

Online education can be seen as a comparatively new trend, which many institutes have already deployed in this era of the industrial revolution 4.0. While it is undeniable that there are some drawbacks to this method, I firmly believe that the advantages of it far outweigh the demerits. One of the strongest arguments in favour of learning online courses is that people might register and study effectively and easily. For instance, there are a few people like housewives and elderly people who find it challenging when commuting in the city to head to their class. Thanks to the appearance of online courses, they can study short courses and accomplish online degrees in pursuing their education. Therefore, both learners and teachers are handy for learning as well as teaching without being weary of distance and time. Moreover, internet-based courses about intuitive and methodical lessons are planned scientifically by university teachers and professional experts, so that students might study and apply it with an uncompromising quality. What’s more, internet-based courses are easier to keep track of, and someone can retake the same lessons repeatedly. Thus, many students have reported that the Khan Academy, Hacker Rank and W3school, renowned Internet-based online course websites are their preferred learning tools. The downside of this phenomenon is the cost and lack of proper supervision by a teacher. One good example of this is learners might become distracted and lack the stamina to follow when they are worn out. On top of that, the teacher’s guidance and motivation play an integral part in the learning process. In doing so, traditional classroom-based courses would be a good choice. To conclude, technological advancements do wonders for human life in education, especially online education, which is a great leap towards a world without illiteracy and unemployment. Hence, this is a positive enhancement though it lacks a teacher’s encouragement and direct supervision.