Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialise online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

In today’s modern era, society tends to socialize more through online applications instead of face-to-face. Technology development has brought numerous benefits to human civilizations such as they can utilize applications to communicate from one person to another. Meanwhile, people in the past had difficulties interacting due to limited technology. However, in my point of view, this issue brings both positive and negative impacts on socialization. To commence, there are many online chatting applications such as WhatsApp, iMessage, telegram, and so forth to simplify communication. It means the community do not waste time meeting their relatives during hectic and busy schedules. To illustrate, In Indonesia, due to the spread of a virus named COVID-19, people especially in the big city use cloud-based video conference services to have a meeting. However, too much socializing online leads to various problems for users who are addicted to using the internet for a long time. One of these is they will lose interpersonal skills which are very important in the life of society. For instance, between 2019 and 2020, most companies in Indonesia required employees to Work from Home and isolate at home by reason of the spread of the Virus. As more workers stay at home to work, it leads to several disadvantages such as burnout, lack of productivity, unmonitored performance, and even lack of motivation. In conclusion, socializing online brings a positive impact both in a personal and business sense. Nevertheless, it is important to have social interactions because its an essential aspect of social relationships