Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is obvious that sugary products have a negative impact on our health. Considering this fact, some would suggest that the government should obligate producing companies to make them more expensive so that people find it more difficult to buy them. I agree with this argument to some extent. I believe that although increasing the price is an efficient way, there are some matters that we should consider when doing that. There are several reasons why making consumers pay more for sugary products can be a wonderful way to address this problem. The primary reason is that it allows the government to change this harmful behaviour directly. To explain more, consuming unhealthy foods and drinks can harm an individual’s well-being, but not everyone knows that. I believe that some people are not knowledgeable enough to consider it while shopping, and It takes more time to educate them. By establishing this new policy, however, the government can change their behaviour within a shorter period of time. Another important point is that since most countries offer free healthcare services, every patient costs a lot to the government. As a result, it is reasonable for politicians to be more careful about the public health budget, even if that means they need to establish strict policies about that. On the other hand, when considering socioeconomic policies, we need to take everything into account. First of all, in order to function well, our body needs to intake a certain amount of sugar. If the companies rise the cost of sugary products, people who are struggling with poverty will not be able to intake the necessary amount of them, and this might lead to another public-health-related problem. In addition, it is evident that we can not succeed by only putting a lot of pressure on society. The government should provide the nation with some alternative options. It should determine the main reasons why people prefer to buy sugary products and offer them options that are equally desirable. In conclusion, I restate that increasing the cost of sugary products can be an effective way for changing this unfavourable consumption pattern. However, we need to find an alternative way to help poor people to receive the amount of sugar which is needed for their health, and try to offer society better options.