Due to low-cost flights, many people are choosing to holiday abroad rather than have holidays in their own country. What are the advantages and disadvantages to this?

Nowadays, with the declining prices of travelling by plane, a significant number of tourists prefer having a holiday abroad to spending time in their own country. From my perspective, this decision came up with pros and cons which affected the nation's economy considerably. On the one hand, it is obvious that there are numerous benefits of having low-cost flights to other countries for the travellers. Firstly, people can have much higher opportunities to discover the culture and customs of the locals from various nations. Since the accessibility of transportation such as planes is now easier than before, the chance of inhabitants from different classes travelling to other countries increases significantly. As a result, they can gain more knowledge and intelligence from that community. Secondly, as developed countries are very sophisticated, advanced technologies used in those nations can be known and consequently educated by travellers. For instance, Japan was well-known for having bullet trains, hence people like to travel in those trains whenever they get there to have a life-time experience. On the other hand, city-dwellers spending their time in other countries can have some drawbacks. The main disadvantage is that the homeland tourism industry can be deteriorated substantially. Due to the high quality of foreign tourism service, it may satisfy the majority of the demand of the abroad visitors, thus decreasing the individual’s interest in their motherland. The vacation business from that nation, as a result, declined dramatically which caused huge impacts on the national economy. Moreover, the recognition of the country would be rarely known by foreign visitors. In conclusion, as plane travel expenses have decreased, a bunch of advantages can be found along with disadvantages. While the primary benefits are having new experiences, the national economy can be affected inferiorly.