It is inevitable that traditional cultures will be lost as technology develops. Technology and traditional cultures are incompatible. To what extent do you agree and disagree with this view.

As science and technology have improved by leaps and bounds, a great many traditional cultures worldwide have been lost and the trend may continue in future, which thus makes some people believe that both aspects cannot coexist in a proper manner. From my perspective, I am not in favour of the view, believing that they are inclusive rather than exclusive. On the one hand, many ancient cultures have faded away under the influence of new technologies. For one thing, scientific discoveries drive people to explore the unknown world. For instance, the advance in navigation brought Westerners to American Continent, which not only killed millions of native Indians but removed a great number of precious Indian cultures from Earth with killing and assimilation. For another, the technology also poses a threat to local civilizations in countries and regions where they are not colonized by Westerners. Influenced by Western cultures spread by modern technologies, such as radio, internet and so on, people in Japan and South Korea prefer Western customs and festivals to local ones, speeding up the disappearance of some indigenous traditions and customs. On the other hand, science and technology play a big role in preserving traditional cultures. First of all, all traditional procedures and details can be recorded through videos, which can be passed on to future generations. By contrast, most things had lost because books and paintings can only store clips of the culture and they are easily distorted by errors and misunderstandings. For example, it would not be difficult for us to understand some rituals in ancient Egypt and Greece if they were taken by cameras. Furthermore, the modern transport system brings tourist to tribes living in remote areas, which make it possible to preserve local cultures from tourism revenues. In conclusion, while technology contributes greatly to the distinction of many cultures, it can also save some local civilizations from going extinct, thus thriving with technological advances.