These days many kids spend a lot of their time playing computer games instead of doing sports. What is the cause of this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Recently some people have expressed the concern about today's children spending more time on the computer than practicing sports. I believe this is not a huge problem but still something that we should pay attention to. On the one hand, there is no doubt that it is in the best interest for younger people to take on one or more sports. First, to get better physical development, leading to better health in general, which will last a lifetime. Second, for the social aspect of it, sports are a way to communicate with others, whether the kid is a part of a team, which will teach them how to work with other people and take everyone's opinion into consideration, or they have to play alone like in tennis, they will have to rely on themselves have self-discipline and learn to take responsibility. Furthermore, the friends made along the way are one of the best things about being physically active. On the other hand, time spent playing video games in my opinion is not something to worry about. Research has shown that computer usage increases hand-eye coordination, which can be incredibly useful in a future career as a surgeon for example. In addition, computer games are amazing not just to rest but also a way to connect with friends from across the world. Today many people stay in touch through the Internet and video games have proved to be a great way to have fun with someone, who is miles away. In conclusion, sport should be a part of kids' lives for its many positive benefits to their lives but this should not in any way disclude computer games, which can help them relax and spend time with friends, with whom they otherwise could not.