Some people believe that all children should have a pet or an animal to look after. Other people disagree, however, saying that this depends on a child's circumstances. Consider these opposing views, and give your own opinion

It is believed that all children should own a pet or an animal to take care of. Others disagree, however, some think this is decided by the child's conditions. This essay will discuss the debate and give a concluding view. The various reason why keeping pets can be highly beneficial is that children can understand nutrition, and learn about biology, and daily routines, for instance, food selection and exercise activities, in other words, this adds greatly to a child’s all-around education. Furthermore, the emotional support that children receive from pets helps them feel more secure, which boosts their confidence. However, not all children live where pet keeping is advisable, or even possible. I would start by saying that the expense of maintaining a pet may be prohibitive. The fact that many children live in unstable family environments, for example, families that have unemployment or political turbulence, not only is unfair to keep pets but also dangerous because they would probably suffer neglect. The last point that I would like to mention is not all young people want to keep a pet, which is to say, their interests elsewhere, therefore, these youngsters’ ownership not be encouraged. Overall, it appears likely that a child’s interests, ability, and family circumstances should be taken into consideration when deciding whether to get a pet rather than a general view that ‘ all children ’ should have animals. It seems this serves the interests of both the children and the pets involved.