Families who send their children to private schools not be required to pay taxes that support the state education, to what extent do you agree or disagree.

When schoolchildren study at private schools, some people argue that there is no need for their parents to be taxed for the support of the state education system. From my perspective, I am not in favour of this opinion, believing that every taxpayer has an obligation to make contributions to local educational resources. People who harbour the view that offering financial support for public schools is unnecessary argue that their children are excluded from the system, so it is unfair for them to pay taxes for it. For example, many public schools offer free meals funded by the government, while students in private schools have to spend money on them. Considering the tuition and other costs, the outgoings of studying at private schools are more costly, thus the tax may place a higher financial burden on those families. However, parents of children educated privately should shoulder the responsibility for public education, because it benefits the whole of society. For one thing, public education which is usually free and compulsory in most countries plays a crucial role in the national development, which cannot only grow the local economy by offering qualified employees that can attract capital investments, but create job opportunities by providing vocational training programs. Consequently, all citizens in the country are able to benefit from it, which requires us to pay taxes in return. For another, it is difficult to figure out the accurate number of taxes that should not be paid, since public service also covers the need for private schools. For instance, all students need to be protected by police officers and firefighters, thereby making it impossible to calculate the cost in a proper manner and separate the sum of money spent on state education from other types of taxes. Furthermore, almost all students educated privately come from wealthy families, if government discount their taxes on education, the gap between the rich and the poor will be widened to a certain degree. In conclusion, there are a variety of reasons for all taxpayers to fulfil their duties in society, thus under no circumstance should we make financial concessions for people choosing private education.