Breakfast at Tiffany's and bottles of bubbles. Girls with tattoos who like getting in trouble. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued whether scientists should strive to improve and strengthen people's welfare or make breakthroughs in the realm of science no matter how harmful they would be to all of us. I fully agree that scientific discoveries should only pave the way for further sustainable development of humanity. Firstly, scholars themselves are a significant part of society. Thus, by intending to create something that would devastate many people's hopes for a bright future, they only harm themselves. For instance, while constructing an atomic bomb in Los-Alamos during World War 2, numerous science experts and students were exposed to the truly detrimental effects of uranium. Though the usage of this bomb finally led to the end of World War 2, more than 100, 000 peaceful citizens of Hiroshima and Nagasaki ended up having the same symptoms as the experts had during experiments. Therefore, before inventing something or making a discovery scientists should thoroughly contemplate the potential repercussions and how would they reflect on one's life. Secondly, the government always makes it a point to allocate financial help to the scientific field. A case in point is the 2 billion dollars that were spent by the US government in order to build a nuclear bomb in the 1940s. Most of these expenditures were taken from taxes that many citizens were obliged to pay, even though they might have been making ends meet. In my opinion, it is morally unacceptable to waste the money, which people were trying to earn through blood, sweat and tears, on something that would immensely aggravate their sufferings. Taking everything into account, inventions should only foster everyone's well-being. I highly recommend scientists instil into their minds the notion of seeing moral questions as the prerequisite of any research.