Some people think the Olympic Games is an exciting event which can bring nations together. Other people think Olympic Games is a way for people to waste money that could be used for other events. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The question of whether the Olympic Games actually bring cohesion has sparked heated debate. Proponents claim that competition between different nations fundamentally enhances national unity. While some argue that it is merely a waste of money and possibly squeezes resources planned for other events. In the essay, I will elucidate in more detail both standpoints and give my personal opinions. First of all, Opponents usually emphasize that the Olympics has no intrinsic value and further occupy the financial budget for other activities. The stadium specialized for the Olympics, for example, was ultimately left unused since there is no substantial maintenance fee from the government. As a consequence, many countries faced considerable economic burdens after hosting the activity, and eventually have no funding to support other projects. Irrefutably, these worries have solid ground. On the other hand, supporters believe that such athletic events build national confidence and bring people together. Every four years, starting with an enthusiastic welcome, individuals watch intensive competitions including, baseball, basketball or other sports, and offer sincere support for the national team. In this way, they are sharing the same topic and cheering for the same team in terms of constructing close bonding with each other. Therefore, it is true that the Olympics builds strong relationships. In conclusion, both statements are valid depending on the actual situation. In my viewpoint, the government should evaluate its financial status before its decision to host the Olympics and make sure there will not be negative impacts on other ongoing plans. If the financial condition is allowed, this gigantic program then shall be built. From another perspective, the federal body could also calculate the potential tourism revenue to persuade taxpayers to advocate the plan.