Around the world, rural people are moving to cities and urban areas, so populations in the countryside are decreasing. Is this a positive or negative development?

In modern society, more and more people migrate from counties to cities for some reason, such as higher wages, higher welfare treatment, and better living conditions. Some people argue that this trend affects rural society, but in my opinion, it is a positive development for the whole country. First, urbanization brings economic growth. Urbanization translated into countries switching sectoral composition away from agriculture into industry and technological advances in domestic agriculture releasing labor from agriculture to migrate to cities. In other words, the transfer of labour from less efficient agricultural sectors to more efficient non-agricultural sectors enhances the production efficiency of the whole society. For instance, London was one of the first cities to experience urbanization. Between 1700 and 1800, London grew from 600 thousand to 1.1 million residents. This was due to industrialization and the growth of urban factories that had a strong need for labour. People started moving to London in search of work in the factories. Although there was air pollution with urbanization, Britain transformed from a backward agricultural country to the world's most advanced capitalist industrial powerhouse, known as the "factory of the world" Meanwhile, the increase in urban population brings a large amount of consumption, which largely drives the market demand. Second, rural populations, whose livelihoods mostly depend on agriculture, are particularly vulnerable to natural disasters. They have high natural resource dependency and limited ability to cope with and manage risk. This means once a disaster has recurred, they cannot overcome it easily. For instance, Beijing and its environs experienced heavy rain in 2020, and many houses and vast areas of farmland in rural areas have been destroyed by a rush of water, but there was almost no news of buildings being destroyed in urban areas, which means that urban areas have stronger capability to withstand natural calamities. Third, cities provide more job opportunities and better infrastructure such as education and healthcare, which will help improve the living standards, education levels, and overall health status of immigrants. Those things cannot be provided by rural areas. From the whole perspective, this trend will not only give more people a better life but also make social development faster. Although there were some problems with rapid urbanization, the advantages it brings more than compensated for those problems.