The life expectancy í increasing in many countries over the world. Do you think thí í a positive or negative development?

It is true that life expectancy is increasing in various nations around the world. I hold the opinion that the elderly may put a disadvantage on governments, however, I also believe that they are beneficial for society in some aspects. On the one hand, the increasing population of elderly people could be disadvantageous to some extent. The main challenge is that it puts a heavy burden on the medical finance of a country. Old people are more likely to suffer from physical health problems such as heart or lung diseases which required high costs of treatment. This means the government might have to devote a larger budget in an attempt to supply more public health services as well as better medical facilities. Another drawback that puts young people at a disadvantage is fewer employment opportunities for them. People are retiring later, which causes young job seekers to struggle to find stable jobs and have promotion opportunities in all fields of industries. On the other hand, professionally qualified seniors would be role models for young generations in an influential way. The elderly are experienced advisers on how to handle different work-related issues prudently based on their wide range of knowledge. Therefore, youngsters who are fortunate enough to benefit from the life experiences of the old are expected to become up-and-coming talents, which has a positive impact on their country’s development. In addition, longer lifespans can lead people to satisfy their lives by doing what they enjoy after retirement or working as a volunteer with the view of contributing to society. In conclusion, despite the ageing population causing a lack of occupation for young people, the elderly are still respectable and exemplary role models who lead a country reach to success.