Write about the following topic. Music play an important role in society, others think it is simply a form of entertainment for individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

While, some people look downside of music, thinking that it is just a way to pass our time, others instead, see through the music itself, and understand the meaning that it had throughout our lives. In my opinion, music can be an important tool not only for understanding ourselves but also for the people around us. There are a lot of people, that do not see the greater impact that music had on our lives. They argue that music has no meaning because they think that its only aim is to entertain others since they compare music to viewing some programmes on TV. In addition, for them, it makes no sense, it is just a sound in the background of everyone's lives, you can listen to it or not and it will not change anything. Others instead, believe in the power of music. Music can change society because it spreads important messages, it can be about different types of social problems, that we have in our society, such as bullying or diets etc... It is through music that we fight important social and political battles. For example, during the protests held in Spain for the violence against women, people sang a song about the violence that was (is, I would add) happening. Music makes you understand that you are not alone, that you are not the only one who feels in a certain way, it unites people from all around the world. Music brings sparkles when there is only dark around you. Provided all these reasons, I agree with those who said that it plays an important role in society because it changes not only us, as a singular individual, but it shapes everyone, and thus the society itself. In conclusion, while some people think of music as something only to entertain people, I do agree with the other part of the argument, saying that music has, instead, an important role in shaping society.