People often do not interact with their neighbours and this is harming community building. What are the possible causes and solutions? ‌

With the advent of social media, things have changed drastically in all aspects. An individual could appear to be a friendly and extrovert personality online, but the reality could be far from the truth. Folks have limited connection with their neighbours which is fatal for community building. In this essay, we will elucidate the causes and some possible solutions for the same. First and foremost, the reason is straightforward. In today's busy life, adults have limited time to connect outside their established circle. Moreover, while growing up, many teenagers have been exposed to the online world, eliminating the need to connect to people in real. Also, social dating sites and apps have eliminated the need to communicate with anyone in person. It has made connecting significantly easy, and nobody is interested in having a real face-to-face conversation. One possible solution could be to force youngsters to play outdoors and reduce their screen time. This way, they could learn how to connect to other humans in real life and not sit behind the screen and typing on a keyboard. In addition, every neighbourhood should organize more and more social events where folks from a surrounding area can come out and connect in real life. For example, some kind of fun event for the residents of their area or arranging any sports event. In conclusion, we have discussed the causes and solutions of reduced in-person connections and the dangers that hover upon us. Social media is majorly responsible for disconnecting people from the real world. Less screen time for teenagers and encouraging them to play outdoors and connect with others can fix the issue from the roots.