In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Plenty of nations are currently experiencing uplifted life expectancy. A few individuals argue it is disadvantageous for a society to contain lots of elderly citizens, saying that it will generate more issues for the governments. In the meantime, some believe that having more ageing residents is beneficial. As for myself, I perceive that the cons exceed the pros, and therefore, the following paragraphs will extend my opinion clearly. On the one hand, there are two reasons why there is an opinion which expresses agreement towards the advantages brought along by ageing residents to the countries. First things first, it is quite vital for a society to have old minds as elderly inhabitants are capable of conveying valuable experiences and critical knowledge to succeeding generations. This, in other words, could enhance the level of efficiency and the proficiency of inexperienced workforce, which of course are required to expand a country’s development. Secondly, the fact that the volume of older generations is increasing turns out to be an economic opportunity for numerous elderly-related occupations or services. For illustration, in many nations, including America, Korea, Vietnam, … and the list continues, a variety of different products and activities, like diapers or maybe health care, are born in order to support older citizens in terms of physicality and mentality. Hence, it makes sense to account for why some people reckon so. On the other hand, despite all the mentioned good sides, there are still factors showcasing the burdens that societies might encounter. To clarify this, in addition to personal lives, younger generations in families will then have to deal with more tasks, from rearing to supportive expenses. This could lead to a more stressful quality of life. Also, the matter has always been attached to birth rates, the more declining the rate is, the swifter ageing population will thrive. This might have given a lack of labour, devising economically inefficient progress and even driving the policymakers crazy to solve the puzzling troubles. For instance, a family of four with no birth-given planning may possibly suffer from no caretaker and financial obstacles when everybody reaches retirement and old age, with no ability to do that on their own. In short, the impacts that the downsides are definitely enormous, compared to the benefits. In summary, there are some elements that clarify the advantageous sides and I admit that it is fair enough. However, as I have clearly interpreted, I am more convinced to go with the viewpoint that the drawbacks are more extreme than the beneficial points due to how negative the impacts are that it could have on a whole nation.