Many people prefer to watch foreigh films rather than locally produced films, why could this be , should governments give more financial supports to local film industries.

Under the influence of Western civilization that is dominant worldwide, a great number of people, especially the young, prefer watching foreign movies to homegrown ones, which triggers concerns for the preservation of local culture. This essay will analyze the reasons behind the trend and I reckon that the local film-making industry should be granted more investments from governments. The reasons for the preference are manifold, and chief among them is the attractive plots, world-known actors and actresses and the-state-of-art film-making techniques that trigger audiences’ curiosity and interest in watching worldwide. For one thing, the film industry is well-run in some countries such as America and India, where filmmakers cannot only gather sufficient resources in making films but easily gain investments to produce big-budget films. As a result, it forms a virtuous cycle, meaning that blockbusters can appeal to tens of millions of viewers to achieve box-office success then abundant financial revenues drive people and capital to engage. However, locally-made films in other countries suffer in comparison with low-quality and low-budget productions. As an important vehicle of entertainment and delivery of information and culture, movies carry more value rather than entertaining viewers only, thus governments should grant fiscal assistance to local film producers. To begin with, it can function as a means of preserving culture and customs. Impacted by globalization, a great number of traditional and cultural rituals have become extinct. For example, most native Indian civilizations died out in the American continent because of the killings and assimilation by Westerners. If they were filmed, we are able to retrace the progress of civilization. Furthermore, the movie business makes great contributions to the local economy. For example, not only can Hollywood in America and Bollywood in India reap enormous benefits from the box office, but they create a huge number of job opportunities and impel technological innovations in film-making. In conclusion, the government ought to provide necessary financial support for local filmmakers, in an effort to encourage them to produce blockbusters, thereby reversing the trend that audiences favour foreign movies over homegrown ones.