In the developed world, the average life expectance is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact ageing populations?

The debate surrounding increased life expectancy is a complex and nuanced topic. In spite of the benefits of living longer, there are some downfalls that cannot be overlooked. This essay will describe the consequences of an ageing society and some actions to strike a balance to minimise them. Firstly, having a population with a higher proportion of older individuals can create some problems. It can be argued that the older they get, the more extra healthcare and long-term care support they need. For instance, they generally require medical treatments for chronic conditions and age-related ailments. For that reason, such demand can increase the pressure on the governments and the taxpayers to fund the necessities. Secondly, an ageing society can potentially change the socioeconomic factor of the country. It may create an unbalanced composition of the working population and the elderly. Consequently, it can lead to a labour force shortage and possibly a decline in productivity levels, which can affect the country's GDP. Therefore, overcoming the challenges posed by the rising older generation requires a comprehensive and multi-faceted approach. So a possible solution, in this case, would be promoting a healthy and active lifestyle. For example, regular physical activities and a nutritious diet can reduce the risk of chronic diseases. Hence, minimising the burden on healthcare systems. In addition to that, the elimination of age discrimination in employment practices should be encouraged, which can increase the participation of older individuals in the workplace. As a result, not only do they have money to spend but also a sense of independence. However, this should be done with flexible work arrangements to accommodate their age and situation. To conclude, some people can argue that the pressure of longevity is inevitable. However, the load on the healthcare system could have been avoided if people live healthier and worked longer.