Some people think that governments should ban dangerous sports, while others think people should have the freedom to do any sports or activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is sometimes argued that authorities ought to ban people from playing dangerous sports, while others believe that they should play any sports with freedom. In my opinion, people should play any sports they want based on their interests. On the one hand, governments should ban some dangerous sports because they could cause many serious injuries from accidents and harmful effects on young people. In many situations, they could affect the players’ lives and cost a lot of money to rescue even when the insurance companies have guaranteed the safety of activities. For example, in 2004, while a man was diving to watch coral reefs and various fishes, he was attacked by a shark, which cost him nearly a half million dollars and a year to recover. On the other hand, people have the right to participate in sports they enjoy. Banning sports could reject the opportunities for individuals to try exotic sports. If they want to experience them, they will have to go abroad or join some unverified actions, which is riskier. Besides, in many sports, people have professional coaches to teach them some skills and follow them during the journey. Therefore, the proportion of being damaged by doing something dangerous is much lower, so they can enjoy new activities without considering it carefully. For instance, there are some guides in rock climbing in front and behind you to ensure your safety during the trip. In conclusion, there are some acceptable reasons why governments should ban dangerous sports. Nevertheless, I believe that individuals can enjoy any sport that they want with the help of guides. As technology has improved so far, individuals can enjoy activities through virtual reality appliances with high accuracy instead of doing them in real life.