some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. why is this the case? do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is true that many children are indulging themselves in smartphones in today's society. In my opinion, two main reasons lead to this phenomenon, and I firmly believe that this development has more detrimental effects on kids. The first reason why adolescents consume a lot of time on smartphones is that they have a wide variety of entertainment choices on it due to the advancement of modern technologies and the internet, which means that youths are able to connect the WIFI everywhere and do some recreational activities, such as playing phone games, scrolling on their social media, and watching videos. Another cause is that some teenagers who stay far away from their families or friends have to utilize mobile phones to keep in touch with them. For example, students who study overseas would find it difficult to see their family members in person, while phones make communication more convenient and free, which allows them to share videos and photos with families living in remote areas. I strongly argue that children's obsession with phones has several disadvantages. First, spending quantities of time on mobile phones will definitely damage youths' health. Teenagers who rely too much on their phones are more likely to develop a sedentary lifestyle, increasing the risk of diseases like obesity and high blood pressure. Plus, kids' social and communication skills will degrade because of the reduction of face-to-face communication. While children can socialise on their social media and make new friends in this virtual world, they tend to become reluctant to step outside to socialise in the real world in the long term. In conclusion, entertainments and needs are two main reasons for kids' addiction to smartphones, and I believe this development has negative impacts on children's health and social skills.