Some people think that one should retire at the age of 60 or 65. Others say that people should be allowed to work for as long as they want to. What is your opinion about this?

Demography in Western countries indicates that there will be more and more elderly people in the future. Due to better healthcare systems that are available and stricter requirements for working environments, the life expectancy of people has risen over time. This has made people discuss whether people in their retirement age should stop working, or just the opposite, they should be more engaged in society and offered a chance to work as long as they want in spite of their advanced age. On the one hand, an ageing population is gradually putting more pressure on younger generations who have to support elderly people. For instance, providing that there is an increasing number of elderly people, people of working age will have to pay more tax to provide elderly people with access to healthcare services and to enable the government to support them financially. Therefore, allowing people at the age of retirement to work as long as they want to would be something that both the government and pensioners could benefit from. On the other hand, the list of occupations that would be suitable for older people should be limited. There are many specific work tasks that may not be very suitable for older people, especially work duties that require good physical fitness. A good example would be a policeman who has to have good physical stamina in order to stop criminals or even a firefighter who may have to climb on ladders or roofs. However, it would be reasonable to assess a person's suitability for a certain position regarding his or her age individually and on a case-by-case basis. To sum up, I personally believe that offering elderly people a choice to be engaged in work and to stay active instead of quitting their job is better both for the whole society and themselves.