Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Public transportation plays a vital role in modern society. Its convenience and reliability are two major concerns when a government decides which mode to allocate money for. Personally, I believe both railways and roads are essential with different functions, and I therefore disagree with the statement that funds should be spent on railways instead of roads by governments. On the one hand, there are several reasons for investing railways. Firstly, trains can transport as much as hundreds of tons of goods at one time, so it's the major way delivering industrial cargoes like coal, mine or steel. On the process of a country's developing industry, railroad facilities and trains always take great responsibility. And in another way, this also cost less than roads or air transport. Secondly, railroads can extend several sousands kilometers away, even from Beijing, China to Hamburg, Germany. and trains can run without facing interruption or traffic jam, which makes them faster than cars. With larger proportion of trains using electric energy, railways can produce less air pollution or greenhouse gases. On the other hand, the benifits of roads are irreplacable as well. To begin with, roads are easily to build. even when the ground is flat and long without asphalt, that can be named "road" and cars can run on it. Furthermore, roads can be constructed in various environment, from plain to highland or mountain. When catastrophic disasters like heavy earthquakes occur, supplies are nomally shipped in this way. Additionally, private cars and buses are also the main mode of transportation for short-distance travel. It is hard to imagine how people can go shopping in supermarkets or visit friends from their own home without roads. In conclusion, it is possible for governments to construct railways and roads with different order or amount, but those two are both necessary for public transportation.