Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sport facilities. Other, however, say that this would have limit effect on public health and that other measure are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The debate surrounding optimising public health is a complicated and nuanced topic. Despite the benefits of having a lot of athletic fields on people's well-being, some would argue that it would not be sufficient enough to make a significant impact. This essay will describe both sides of the discussion and why I think other strategies are cheaper and more effective. On the one hand, it could be argued that sports facilities can offer many benefits to individuals and communities, most importantly of all ages. These places provide tools such as gym equipment as well as programs to increase physical activities, which ultimately improve people's general well-being. Therefore, some would say that the more sports facilities there are, the more active and healthy the community may become as it is accessible to the public. However, the costs to build these play spaces cannot be overlooked. Constructing one generally requires a huge amount of investment and maintenance costs, which potentially may lead to expensive membership fees. And consequently, it may not be affordable and accessible to everyone. On the other hand, however, there are many things that can be done to promote wellness with a fraction of the cost and more money in your bank. Firstly, everyone would have been more empowered if there had been some fitness education and awareness campaigns to promote healthy lifestyle choices and chronic illnesses prevention. If everyone were exposed to programs for instance cooking classes for nutritious and balanced diets and education on responsible alcohol consumption, potentially they would be familiar with the concept and adapt to the lifestyle. Most importantly, most of the time these are free or little cost to the communities, and for that reason, they can reach many audiences. To conclude, although some crowds believe that the more sports centres there are, the better public health will be, nevertheless, it may be costly to run and for individuals to use. And since fitness education and awareness campaigns are more affordable, I believe that they have the potential to reach a lot of audiences and are more efficient to implement.