If racism and xenophobia are attitudes that we are taught , not born with, the problems that come from them can be resolved. Discuss the view and give your own opinion.

There are certain attitudes, that every human has, which arise two questions: were we born with certain thoughts or someone taught them to us? This essay will explain in deeper the answer to the second question, explaining how attitudes, such as xenophobia or racism, are in today's society and what can we do to go beyond them. First of all, is important to understand that both racism and xenophobia are fears towards people, with the first one related to the physical appearance and the second to the culture which the individual has. These, are not something we are born with, instead, they come from the hate and traditions that people may have. While some parents teach their kids the differences among people in a familiar and safe way, others, are more inclined, maybe because of the experiences that they had during their lives, to explain and underline those characteristics as problems and issues from which the child should guard himself. For instance,in a multi-ethnic city, where you can find all kinds of people (with different nationalities, cultures, religions etc..), obviously if a child grows up there, he will be more inclined to accept diversity. Take, as an example, the opposite situation, we are in a small village, in a remote country, and the child is going to associate differences with a bad characteristic. Furthermore, from my perspective, this is a really difficult subject to talk about, especially today, when we see a lot of cases of people harmed and treated badly only because they were different, because of their appearances. Since parents taught that to their children, I see a possibility to change how things are now. The solution could be to make parents more aware of their role in shaping new citizens. Anyway, this is a structural problem and it may not solve the situation completely, which is why, I think, it is also important to have institutions working on the issue, for example, talking more about it on TV or creating campaigns about these subjects etc.... In conclusion, although, parents do not teach any more certain attitudes, like racism and xenophobia, that were imposed on them when they were kids as well, it is not going to delete them. Therefore, I believe that transformation should come from a more structural perspective, from the institutions, and only in this way the change can be implemented in the overall society.