Many people nowadays spend a large part of their free time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development

A huge number of people spend a great amount of leisure time in their gadgets. I find it a crucial and the global trend, which has several reasons to exist. The first reason can be,that almost everyone has his/her mobile phone, with plenty of applications, social networking sites, messengers, games in it. Another possible reason may be, that the internet is ubiquitous, so everyone has it at home and in a free access. Moreover, it is a rapid way to entertain yourself without going nowhere.So it is not a surprise that we adore to use it during our spare time. I strongly believe that it is a negative development, hence I am going to share my perspective about this issue. Firstly, one serious problem that can arise from people spending lots of spare time online is that it can lead to isolation. For example, before the internet, people tended to spend their free time wisely, communicating with each other. Nowadays especially adolescents would prefer to spend their free time chatting online, playing games or watching something instead of going out somewhere or take part in a public event. Isolation of this kind can lead to depression and even cause phone obsession. Secondly, another drawback is,that it takes a harmful effect for our health. For instance, research suggests that a prolonged use of the gadget can adversely affect our vision and mental health. So it is vital have a rest without phones. To conclude I would like to say that although it has become more popular for people to relax, socialize using smartphone, but it also has brought too many issues to be a positive trend.