Some people believe that all wild animals should be protected. Others say that only a few wild animals should be protected. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Several individuals state that every species of wild creatures needs protection. Some argue that mankind should only concentrate on certain kinds of animals. While viewpoints towards this matter may vary, I suppose that some wild animals ought to be kept from harm.  On the one hand, various people claim that humans have the responsibility to conserve all natural species. This opinion may stem from animal rights, which requires everyone to treat animals humanely, preventing all forms of animal exploitation, animal suffering and animal slaughter. What is more, since all breeds are parts of the biodiversity, conserving them may help to maintain a balanced ecosystem. For instance, if a particular kind of organism becomes extinct, their predators will suffer from hunger then gradually decline, which enormously disrupts the natural food chain. On the other hand, I tend to support the view that only animals being on the brink of extinction should be protected. Although biodiversity plays a vital part, it would be unwise to invest the vast majority of our resources on various preservation projects. As a consequence, the authorities could experience great financial burden as funds supporting wildlife protection may cause a significant strain in essential sectors such as medical, health, education, electricity and so on. In addition, there is a wide range of harmful species which should be regulated to ensure human’s wellness. Rats, for example, pose a threat to human health, contaminating food and carrying diseases. In conclusion, it is nearly impractical to conserve all species of wild animal. Personally speaking, priority should only be given to those worthwhile creatures which are on the verge of extinction.