Globalisation has highlighted the need for international communication. It is often argued that English should be compulsory subject for all school children around the world. Others argue that this would do more harm than good. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the advancement in technology, the whole world has become a small global village. Some people opine that it should be essential to teach English to young ones in their schools as it is a global language, whereas, others believe that it has more disadvantages than advantages such as the extinction of other languages. In my opinion, learning English is beneficial as it helps people to develop their memorial skills. To begin with, the first and foremost reason for studying English is that it is the first language in the world which assist individuals from other countries to communicate with each other. To explain, by studying English from the primary days of school, kids can learn it easily and with the passage of time, they become more fluent in speaking it. For example, a competition was held in Italy in which youth from different nations participated, it was observed that as all of them can speak English, it helped them to mix up as well as communicate with each other. On the other hand, like every coin has two sides, there are some demerits of learning English. Firstly, children are at the initial stage of learning. If kids learn English then they start forgetting their mother tongue, as a consequence, there are some languages that are at the stage of extinction. Secondly, when young ones study English, they also try to imitate their culture, as a result, they are not remembering their own culture and its values. In my opinion, young ones should learn English as it is the most spoken language on the whole globe which can aid them in learning new skills and communicating with foreigners. Moreover, if children learn English in their early days, it will provide more education as well as job opportunities to them in the future. For instance, in many countries, it has become mandatory to pass an English exam if individuals want to move there for their higher studies. To sum up, although there are some harms of studying English for children it can be advantageous in many ways by broadening the horizons of kids and providing a way of communication with the masses from other nations.