Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves, to what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is a view that most of us cannot remember the religious or traditional implications of festivals, since they only pay all attention to celebrating them for fun. From my perspective, I am not in favour of this opinion, believing that we cannot only gain pleasure from celebrations but understand the meaning delivered by those festive events. It is true that almost all people have a strong preference for traditional and religious occasions, in which we are able to immerse ourselves in those festivities, thus having fun from them. For one thing, most festive events regarding tradition and religion are related to family ties and domestic affection, which bond us together. For instance, at the end of the year, there must be a festival celebrating family reunions worldwide, such as Christmas Day in Western culture and the Corban Festival in the Islam world, which makes people living in different places reunite together with enjoyment and happiness. For another, many holidays are tagged with interesting and celebrating characteristics, such as Halloween requires children to light jack-o'-lanterns and ask for candies. Nevertheless, it does not mean that what these festivals imply has slipped from our memory. To begin with, people still remember the messages delivered by festivals. For example, citizens in some nations such as the UK and the US will have not only a day off to unwind on Remembrance Day but pay tribute to soldiers who sacrificed their lives for their countries, with different activities. Furthermore, we still cherish the important value brought by traditional and religious occasions. For instance, family plays a key role in celebrating Christmas Day, which is memorized by anyone who engages in feasts regarding traditions and religions as well. In conclusion, while modern citizens indulge in the amusement brought by traditional and religious occasions, we have not yet what they are celebrated for.