Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It has been suggested that more revenue ought to be spent on railway infrastructure than roads by the governments. In my opinion, authorities should inject more amount of money into railways and this essay will explore the reasons why I think it is of paramount importance. From an environmental perspective, rail transportation systems are cleaner means of transport. Due to the fact that we are confronting environmental problems that are taxing more than ever before and the widespread use of cars plays a significant role in this issue owing to their emissions and the carbon footprint they release into the atmosphere. Thus, funding road projects not only will not improve the situation, but also the problem would be exacerbated by encouraging people to use their vehicles and increase the amount of car emissions. Therefore, it will notbe a step in the right direction to address the devasting environmental problems caused by the road transportation system. In contrast, some people claim that if governments invested more money in roads, it would lead to easing traffic problems,especially during rush hour when the most population of the city dwellers are commuting. They firmly insist that this is an effective measure to be taken in order to remedy the traffic situation. However, I do not find this argument convincing as, although improving roads might resolve the issue, it is a short-sighted measure for traffic problems. I think using public transportation systems, subways and trams, for instance, is a more effective solution, since apart from their environmental advantageous impacts, it would also be a source of revenue for the government. In conclusion, I completely agree with the idea that more amount of revenue should be devoted to railway infrastructure because these means of transportation are more eco-friendly and reduce harmful CO2 emissions effectively.