In the advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary world, it can be observed that many companies intend to persuade people that their commodities are novel. The reasons behind this are to sell more and find some shareholders. Although this phenomenon has some advantages, I believe the disadvantages are outweighed. The most obvious reason is to find more customers in order to purchase their products. Companies attempt to utilize some specific effects in their advertisements such as motion graphics and appealing sound to manipulate clients to buy from them, therefore, they can make more profit. One further factor for presenting their novelty is to attract more shareholders. Investors want to find a distinguishment between the business in which they want to invest and other ones. Thus, there should be something unprecedented about it and by having more customers, financiers are persuaded to invest in that company. Although the intention of showing the novelty of their products through advertisements is making more profits and finding more investors, as a member of the public, I do not believe it would be beneficial. After the Industrial Revolution and the development of consumerism, people have squandered their money on buying unnecessary products due to commercials and the influx of social media ads; hence, the level of progress in crucial subjects has been diminished. For example, people could set aside their money to own a house after a couple of years in the past, but nowadays because of wasting their incomes by purchasing luxurious furniture which are represented on YouTube ads. In conclusion, businesses want to manipulate people by showing a difference between their commodities and their rivals’. I believe the reason behind this is to gain more finance and shareholders and it would be detrimental for customers because they have wasted a lot of money in buying useless products under the influence of commercials and advertisements.