Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many dispute that the key environmental issue of today is the extinction of certain animals and plants. Others argue that there are far more serious environmental hurdles facing our generation. While the disappearance of some species of animals and plants is of paramount importance, I would argue that there exist some other natural complications such as global warming or the deterrence of the ozone layer that requires human's immediate attention. Some people are concerned with the current dying out of species and make inquiries for a global acknowledgement of these issues as the most urgent matter facing the earth. They believe that biodiversity is essential for the continuation of life and that the destruction of wildlife species can interrupt the natural behaviour of organisms in the ecosystem. For instance, the elimination of a particular predator such as Tigers in an ecosystem would disrupt the food chain of the region and results in other consecutive disappearances of vegetation due to the expansion of other species like deers that were previously hunted by tigers. Hence, if a single wildlife died out in the ecosystem, it would have a domino effect on other species and lead to their annihilation. However, I believe that nowadays mankind faces some other urgent matters that threaten our existence in the short term. Global warming is among the most significant ones which has manifested its initial signs in the last few years. To overcome this immediate hurdle humans must come together and collaborate in a joint initiative to reduce carbon and other greenhouse gases, which have the effect of raising the earth's temperature. In the meantime, this has to be conducted before the annual rise in temperature hits 1.5 degrees Celcius as scientists outlined that after passing this threshold global warming might become unstoppable or at least too difficult to prevent. By contrast, other environmental problems like animal extinction have a longer-term effect on the globe, which can be overcome by a meticulous plan. To conclude, In spite of the fact that the extinction of animals and plants can have some negative implications on the environment, I would argue that there are more important issues requiring urgent attention from mankind.