Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that the extinction of some vegetations and animals, is the main environmental issue of our time, while others believe that there are much more vital problems that are associated with this subject. I personally assume that the latter view is more acceptable, and there are more hazardous issues than the mentioned ones. On the one hand, some individuals think that losing special animals or plants has a dreadful effect on nature. Primarily, losing vegetation diversity can affect the air quality, because they are not enough plants anymore to produce oxygen and refresh the air; hence humans would face pollution in residential areas. Additionally, the extinction of some species, especially some large predators, can have negative consequences on a habitat’s ecosystem; To illustrate, by not being enough cats in a city to hunt the mice, the number of mice would increase in an unpredictable way, which can even cause several diseases. On the other hand, I assume that much more serious issues are now threatening the environment. Initially, the human-based disasters as a result of industrial explorations, especially during the 20th century, caused several catastrophes and changed the whole environment’s situation. For example, after the Chernobyl disaster, the whole ecosystem of the affected area, and even a huge part of Europe’s water sources were consequently contaminated, and damaged the natural resources in many ways. Furthermore, improper utilization of natural resources in favor of commercial purposes, caused a lot of damages that endangered the global environments. To exemplify, the logging process in terms of building new accommodations for rapidly growing population, led to the deforestation catastrophe, which is the main reason of global warming. Thus, these are more important environmental issues that we currently struggle with. In conclusion, although losing special animals and plants can defect our nature, I believe that humans’ industrial activities and irreversible errors are causing more environmental issues, such as contamination, deforestation, and global warming.