Cycling is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport, but it is becoming less popular. Why? Are there any solutions to make cycling more popular?

In today’s world, cycling is losing favor despite the fact that it is a healthy and ecologically friendly means of transportation and there are several reasons why this happens. In my view, a lot of solutions could be taken to tackle this issue. There are two main culprits of the uncommon usage of bikes. Firstly, cycling takes more commuting time compared to motor vehicles, restricting biker’s time budget for work. Since people prefer to spend as little time travelling as possible these days because modern life is so busy, using other forms of transportation like cars or motorcycles would take less time. Secondly, people’s health can be negatively impacted by cycling for an extended period of time in hot weather. For instance, during this summer, Vietnam's outside temperatures have been known to surpass 50 degrees Celsius so individuals frequently select automobiles like buses or cars to avoid the heat and to preserve their skin. The government plays an important role in encouraging citizens to prioritize cycling. On the one hand, a number of media campaigns raising awareness about the benefits of bicycles should be launched. This can change people’s attitudes of biking and promote cycling habits. On the other hand, the government should improve cycling infrastructure in order to help bikers travel faster and easier. For example, lanes that serve only cyclists and more bike parks should be built. In conclusion, society might take a number of steps to address this pressing issue, such as developing its own routes and using the media to publicize the advantages of cycling.