Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your own opinio

Some people believe that children need a sense of competition, while others think that cooperation is more useful than competition for children to become adults. I prefer cooperation rather than competition in raising children. This essay will introduce both sides and my reasons for cooperation. On the one hand, children do need a sense of competition. Firstly, competition can increase children ’s abilities, including life, study and so on. By competing with others, children could discover their true capacities which they are really good at and exercise more about capacities which they are not good at. Secondly, children can get more confidence through competition. For those children who win the competition, they may feel a sense of acquisition and achievement, and become confident. On the other hand, children also need a sense of cooperation. To start with, cooperation can teach children the importance of being friendly. By finishing a project or a work with many other children, children can realize how to get along well with other children. Then, cooperation can develop a sense of responsibility for children. By distributing different tasks, children will understand that each person in the group needs to complete their own task perfectly, which can improve their responsibility. Last but not least, cooperation is good for children ’s mental health. Because there is no success or loss, children may not envy others, which can develop their mental health. In conclusion, competition does have several advantages in increasing children ’s abilities and making them more confident. However, I still believe that cooperation is more significant for children becoming adults because it can teach children to be friendly, develop a sense of responsibility and be good for their mental health.