Some people think that music plays an important role in the society while others believe it’s simply a form of entertainment. Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

It is considered by several people that music has a strong role to play in society, while other individuals think that it is a mere kind of amusement. From my perspective, I believe the educational values and occupation opportunities obtained from music should not be disregarded, although a large part of people listen to music for no particular purpose. On the one side, many people are of the opinion that music is merely used to deliver entertainment. This is because a vast group of individuals only listen to music because they find the melody catchy or the lyrics meaningful. They do not make profits listening to their playlists and have no interest in learning the music techniques or the cultures behind the songs listen to. What is more, some people even pay money to listen to music just like other kinds of entertainment such as reading comics or playing video games. For example, lots of people spend a huge amount of money going to their idols’ concerts to express their admiration without the intention of discussing the beauty of culture lying under the tunes and rhythms. On the other side, it is undeniable that music has enormous financial potential for the development of a community. A single song offers an array of jobs such as composers, producers, directors, singers and so on. Moreover, for a long time, music awards and ceremonies have been a motivation for musicians and singers, encouraging them to contribute more and provide society with the best quality songs. It should also be noticed that there has been an increasing number of music videos on the internet that teach children about literally every aspect of life and give people a better view of some alarming issues around the world. For instance, through her songs, Billie Eilish has managed to help older generations understand youngsters today who suffer from mental problems such as social anxiety or depression. To conclude, even though many people argue that music only serves recreation and is only listened to for fun, I believe the educational merits and career chances provided by music could help develop a society and therefore should not be overlooked.