Some people believe that the latest technology is creating a divide between rich and poor. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advancement of technology happening almost every day, there's no denying that it has brought us a lot of convenience. However, it is argued that the newest technology has led to a digital divide between people with high and low socioeconomic status. In this essay, I will elaborate on why I agree with this perspective. To begin with, acquiring new, advanced machinery and digital devices can be quite expensive. Generally, innovations that just hit the market are not immediately embraced by the public. It is because they are not widely used, the price tends to be higher, making them less appealing and acceptable to those with lower income. Additionally, there may be a lack of motivation for people experiencing poverty. One reason for this is that a majority of the low-income population resides in the countryside, where job opportunities in industries such as agriculture and manufacturing do not require the use of high-end and cutting-edge inventions. For instance, the use of generative AI like chat-GPT is more common in businesses located in urban areas, while rural regions' demand for it is less considerable. On the other hand, given the fact that technology assists almost every aspect of our lives, those living in low-GDP areas without proper infrastructure to maintain stable electricity and internet, are bound to be left behind in this rapidly changing world. By way of example, students living in the mountains might not have sufficient physical access to computers or their computers are already outdated, this might result in hindering their ability to develop crucial skills for seeking well-paid jobs and higher academic achievements in the future. In conclusion, despite the technological development has provided us with easier access to knowledge and resources, the existing wealth gap that has haunted us for centuries hasn't disappeared, instead, it forms a brand new challenge of the digital divide. Thus, it is vital for us to take action and raise awareness to tackle this issue.