Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on society. To what extent do you agree?

Social media has been gaining more and more popularity these days. The majority of people have at least one social media account such as Facebook or Instagram, in which they spend their time a lot. Some people argue that online platforms are beneficial because they make it possible to connect with people everywhere in the world. However, many others suggest that these platforms have detrimental effects on our lives. I firmly agree with the latter for several reasons. Firstly, although it may be true that social media helps us to reconnect with old friends or stay in touch with whoever we need, these online platforms have trained us to show only good sides, or entertaining posts. Consequently, we become insensitive to social issues such as poverty. Furthermore, continuous updates on our feed attract us to always check our phones, causing what is known as FOMO which stands for fear of missing out. This, will eventually distance the relationship between friends or even families. A recent study published in 2023 shows that the majority of social media users have never met with 90% of their online friends. This study also reveals that as a result of spending too much time on social media, 75% of the respondents lost contact with their actual close friends. Another negative effect of this high use of social media is a feeling of social isolation. As people spend more time alone with their gadgets, they become reluctant to socialize, leading to loneliness and isolation. This may cause further mental issues, especially depression. Also, Netizens become easily depressed when they cannot meet the standards set by the online community. For example, last week, I watched the news about a young man who killed his best friend just because he was envious as he could not afford to buy a sophisticated laptop like the one that his friend had. In conclusion, I vehemently agree that social media has detrimental effects on our social and personal lives because it encourages individualistic and consumptive behaviours.